News Article
Winona County Now Accepts eMarriage Applications

Couples applying for a marriage license in Winona County can save time and simplify the process by filling out the application form online at After completing the online form, couples receive a confirmation email. The couple must appear in person at the any county office that participates in the MOMS program to have their signatures witnessed, pay the license fee and complete the marriage application process. The Winona County Vital Statistics office is located at 177 Main Street, Winona, MN on the main level of the Winona County Government Center.

Whether filling out the application online or using the paper form, couples will need to supply the following information:
  • Full legal names
  • Address and state of residence
  • Date of birth (driver’s license if under 25)
  • Information about any previous marriages (divorce decrees)
  • Full name of both the parties after marriage
  • Social security numbers
  • Information about any felony convictions on or after August 1, 2000
  • Mailing address where the marriage certificate will be sent

If either party is a minor, an additional document is required.  Paper applications will still be accepted.  For more information, call (507) 457-6395 Monday-Friday from 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

Winona County is one of the many Minnesota counties that participate in Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS) MOMS was created in 2008 under the Minnesota Association of County Officials (MACO) umbrella to provide customer service in searching and requesting marriage records statewide. MOMS new online marriage application increased the county services to give customers an opportunity to complete the marriage application online anywhere at any time. MOMS eMarriage Application includes an administration side for the county staff to auto populate the required documents from the application. This new process will be more efficient for county staff and help provide uniformity among counties. While efforts to standardize the application process across the state began in 2008, if successful, Minnesota will be the first state to introduce this collaboration.