Winona CountyThe Recorder's office is responsible for the permanent recording and efficient retrieval of real estate title records. These documents include deeds, contracts, mortgages, probate documents, etc.


The offices of the Recorder and Vital Records are open to the public.

The drop box will continue to be used. It is located on the west side of the County Office Building outside the west doors. Envelopes left in the drop box will need to be clearly labeled for the Recorder's Office and/or Vital Records.


Despite unprecedented business, the Recorder's Department strives to meet recording requirements and return documents in a timely manner. In addition to the public computer and copiers, numerous materials are available from the County Recorder.

Included are:

  • Certified Tract Index Search
  • Copies of Plats
  • Copies of Records
  • County Maps
  • Owner and Encumbrance Report
  • Plat Books
  • Property Owners
  • Tax Lien Searches

Requests for information should be emailed to the Recorder.

Divorce Decrees

(Divorce Decrees can be obtained through the Court Administrator at the Court House.


Winona County is doing full e-Recording! (Still accepting Manual/Paper Documents for Recording) The Recorder's office recommends Electronic submission for prompt recording. Contact an e-Recording Vendor today to get started!


For your convenience, Winona County will now accept one check, made payable to the Winona County Recorder, for the Recording Fee, Deed Tax, Mortgage Registration Tax and Conservation Fee. Also, Winona County Recorder's Office is now accepting credit cards (convenience fee applied).


LandShark occasional use with a credit card is now available! For more information go to the Landshark page.

Torrens - Examiner of Title
Mark Jarstad
136 Main Street, East
Wabasha, MN 55981

Downloadable Forms